Friday, August 26, 2011

Two Environmental Science Majors Awarded Competitive Scholarship

In early August, two of our Environmental Science majors were awarded a 2011 Ohio Environmental Science and Engineering Scholarship. Mary Cargill (AU'12, upper photo), an Environmental Science and Biology double major, and Maureen Heacock (AU'12, lower photo) an Environmental Science and Geology double major, were two of 19 recipients in this year's competition. The $2500 awards are made each year by the Ohio EPA, based on recommendations from the Ohio Academy of Science. This merit-based competition is only open to students majoring in environmental science or engineering. Other recent AU recipients include Karie Charlton (AU'11), who is now working full-time at Cuyahoga National Park, Audrey (Taylor) Croskey (AU'07), and Wendy Peyton (AU'07).

No comments:

Post a Comment