Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Chemistry Professor Honored for Teaching Excellence

Dr. Perry Corbin, associate professor of chemistry, is the 2012 recipient of AU’s prestigious Taylor Excellence in Teaching Award. AU Provost Dr. Frank Pettigrew presented the award at the Academic Honors Convocation on Sunday. The award, first presented in 1997, was endowed by Jeromesville residents Edward and Louaine Taylor to support high quality teaching at Ashland University. Following presentation of the award, Corbin delivered an address titled “Good Chemistry.” Professor Corbin, who teaches organic chemistry and has supervised more than a dozen students in research projects on polymer synthesis, is highly regarded by both colleagues and students for his excellence in and dedication to teaching.

Corbin is the second AU science faculty member selected for this award. Dr. Mason Posner, Professor and Chair of the Department of Biology and Toxicology, received this honor in 2009.

No comments:

Post a Comment